Leadership & Governance

The Global Center on Adaptation Board meets on a regular basis and is responsible for the overall strategic direction of the organization.

Leadership and Governance

Prof. Dr. Patrick V. Verkooijen

Chief Executive Officer
Chair of the Executive Board

Ban Ki-moon

8th Secretary-General of the United Nations
Chair of the Board, Global Center on Adaptation

Feike Sijbesma

Honorary Chairman, Royal DSM
Co-Chair of the Board, Global Center on Adaptation

Board Members

A.K. Abdul Momen

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Ahmed Aboutaleb

Mayor of Rotterdam

Akinwumi Adesina

African Development Bank Group

Ali Ondimba Bongo

President of Gabon

Anne Beathe Tvinnereim

Minister of International Development

Axel van Trotsenburg

Managing Director of Operations
World Bank

Flemming Møller Mortensen

Minister for Development Cooperation and Minister for Nordic Cooperation

Francis X. Suarez

Mayor of Miami

Huang Runqiu

Minister for Ecology & Environment
People’s Republic of China

Jamal Saghir

Professor of Practice
McGill University

José Antonio Meade

Former Finance & Foreign Minister

Kristalina Georgieva

Managing Director
International Monetary Fund

Loren Legarda

Deputy Speaker & Representative of the Lone District of Antique

Matilda Ernkrans

Minister for International Development Cooperation

Moussa Faki

African Union Commission

Rémy Rioux

Chief Executive Officer
Agence Française de Développement

Roald Lapperre

Vice-Minister, Ministry of Infrastructure & Water Management

Rodger Voorhies

President Global Growth & Opportunity Division, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Shemara Wikramanayake

Chief Executive Officer

Vijay Rangarajan

Director General, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
United Kingdom